Russian Pianist Daniil Trifonov Plays Prokofiev Concerto with the Cleveland Orchestra

Thu 3/8 @ 7:30PM

Fri 3/9 @ 8PM

Sat 3/10 @ 8PM

Russian pianist Daniil Trifonov, who studied at the Cleveland Institute of Music, turned 27 on March 5, and he’s celebrating his birthday week by performing with the Cleveland Orchestra.

Appropriately he’s part of an all-Russian program. He’ll be performing Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2, a work with a fraught history. Originally written in 1912-13, the score was destroyed during the Russian revolution, and Prokofiev later reconstructed it to premiere in 1924.

The orchestra will also perform Igor Stravinsky’s Scènes de ballet and Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 (“Pathétique”), which premiered in 1893, just days before his death at age 53.

The legendary maestro Michael Tilson Thomas, music director of the San Francisco Symphony, conducts. Tickets are $21-$161.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply