CityMusicCleveland Debuts New Commissioned Piece Linking Faiths

Wed 3/14 @ 7:30PM

Thu 3/15 @ 7:30PM

Fri 3/16@ 11AM

Fri 3/16 @ 7:30PM

Sat 3/17 @ 8PM

Sun 3/18 @ 4PM

At a time when religious bigotry is growing in the U.S., CityMusic Cleveland is headed in the opposite direction. It has put together a program that focuses on times when people of different faiths were in collaboration rather than conflict.

Its next series of concerts is titled “Two Faiths, One Spirit.” The centerpiece of the concerts is the world premiere of a piece it commissioned, “Sarajevo Haggadah: Music of the Book,” by Bosnian composer/accordionist Merima Ključo. The piece was inspired by an illustrated Jewish manuscript created in 14th-century Spain, which ended up in Sarajevo where an imam hid it from the Nazis during World War II.

Ključo will join the orchestra for the performances, which brings together work by composers from the middle east and central Europe: “Elegy for Strings” by Israeli/Georgian composer Ioseb Bardanashvili, “Seven Passages” by Persian composer Behzad Ranjbaran, Syrian composer Kareen Roustom’s “Dabke” and Tom Cohen’s “Warzazat.”

The orchestra says that the program “communicates that humans have more common ground than we think — and music, humanity and benevolence can bridge even the most severe divisions.”

It will be performed Wednesday at Anshe Chesed Fairmount Temple; Thursday at St. Jerome Church in Collinwood; Friday morning at the Parma Snow branch of the Cuyahoga County Public Library; Friday evening at Lakewood Congregational Church; Saturday at the Shrine Church of St. Stanislaus; and Sunday at St. Mary’s Church in Elyria.

CityMusic’s music director Avner Dorman will conduct all the concerts. All CityMusic concerts are free.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply