Alisa Weilerstein Returns to the Cleveland Orchestra to Play Barber Cello Concerto

Thu 3/15 @ 7:30PM

Fri 3/16 @ 11AM

Sat 3/17 @ 8PM

Sun 3/18 @ 3PM

This week’s Cleveland Orchestra concerts will feature TWO major highlights. One is Antonin Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8 in G major, premiered in 1890 in his native Prague. It’s an audience favorite, second only to his Symphony No. 9 (“New World”), with an upbeat feel that draws from his passion for eastern European folk music.

The second highlight is a much less frequently heard piece, Samuel Barber’s challenging 1945 Concerto for Violincello and Orchestra. In the solo role it features the return of a Cleveland native who has moved onto the international stage as an in-demand cellist, Alisa Weilerstein. It’s not her first rodeo with the Cleveland Orchestra; she made her debut with them when she was just 13.

Recently retired New York Philharmonic conductor Alan Gilbert, who will takes the reins of the NDR Elphilharmonie Orchestra in Hamburg in 2019, conducts the programs, which also include Dvořák’s “The Watersprite” at the evening performances. Tickets range from $21-$165.



Post categories:

Leave a Reply