Mozart Symphony, Mendelssohn Concerto Highlight Cleveland Orchestra Program

Thu 2/15 @ 7:30PM

Fri 2/16 @ 11AM & 8PM

Sat 2/17 @ 8PM

The musical soul of Germany fuels the Cleveland Orchestra’s program this week. It features a pair of very familiar pieces that are beloved by audiences everywhere — Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 and Felix Mendelssohn’ Violin Concerto. And the soloist in the concerto is German violinist Isabelle Faust. Rounding out the evening concerts is a piece by another German, and contemporary of Mozart’s Henri-Joseph Rigel, whose Symphony No. 4 will open the program.

The conductor, however, is not German. He is Canadian Bernard Labadie, founder of the Quebec/Montreal-based Les Violins du Roy and music director of La Chapelle de Quebec, who will take over as principal conductor of the New York-based Orchestra of St. Luke’s this year.

Tickets range from $21-$165.



Post categories:

Leave a Reply