Bruckner Symphony Stands Alone on Severance Hall Program

Thu 2/27 @ 7:30PM

Friday 2/28 & Sat 2/29 @ 8PM

Austrian Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5, written in 1875-1876 and first performed by an orchestra in 1894. Like many of his works, it’s long and complex. Unlike many of his others, it didn’t go through substantial changes and multiple versions. Like many of his works, it is long, giving its musical and emotional complexity (frequently described as a “cathedral of sound”) full room to breathe.

That’s why it’s the only piece the Cleveland Orchestra will be performing at its concerts at Severance Hall this week. They’ll be led by veteran conductor Herbert Blomstedt, now 92, who has conducted the orchestra many times in the past 50 years.

Tickets are $21-$165.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply