Selections from Tchaikovsky’s “Sleeping Beauty” Are on the Menu at Severance Hall

Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Thu 12/5 @ 7:30PM

Fri 12/6 @ 11AM

Sat 12/7 @ 8PM

This week’s Cleveland Orchestra concerts will feature beloved music from Pyotr Tchaikovsky that ISN’T The Nutcracker. Rather, it’s selections from another of his signature ballets, Sleeping Beauty, which broadened their popularity when they were adapted for the 1959 Walt Disney film based on the well-known fairy tale.

The orchestra, led by conductor Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, will also play the overture to Hector Berlioz’s opera Béatrice and Bénédict. The evening concerts will also feature Camille Saint-Saëns’s Piano Concerto No. 5 in F major (“Egyptian”), written while the composer was visiting the city of Luxor in 1896. Saint-Saëns himself played piano at the piece’s debut; French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet will do so at Severance Hall.

Tickets are $21-$165.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply