Cleveland Orchestra Launches New Season With Schubert & Prokofiev

Thu 9/19 @ 7:30PM

Fri 9/20 @ 8PM

This weekend, the Cleveland Orchestra settles back into Severance Hall for its 2019-2020 season kickoff with its music director Franz Welser-Möst on the podium.

It will be doing two performances of two popular pieces. Franz Schubert’s Symphony No. 3 was written in 1815 when he was only 18; it’s a good thing the prolific composer was precocious because, like Mozart, he died very young, at age 31. Sergei Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet, Act I was written in 1935 and first performed in a revised version by the Kirov Ballet in Leningrad in 1940.

Tickets are $21-$161.

Center map

Post categories:

Leave a Reply