Akron Symphony Goes Russian for Season-Opening Program

Benjamin Zander

Sat 9/21 @ 8PM

The Akron Symphony Orchestra opens its 2019-2020 at E.J. Thomas Hall with a quartet of pieces by Russian composers, spanning the mid 19th century to the early 20th century.

It opens with a late piece by influential composer Mikhail Glinka, the overture from his opera Ruslan and Lyudmila. That’s followed by Kovantchina, another operatic excerpt penned by Modest Mussorgsky, who came from the next generation of Russian composers. Georgian-Canadian pianist Alexander Korsantia will join the orchestra for 20th-century composer Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2; Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s 1878 Symphony No. 4 concludes the program which will be led by guest conductor Benjamin Zander of the Boston Philharmonic.

Zander will be talking about the program in “A Preview from the Podium” at 7pm, and there will be a talkback with a group of orchestra musicians in the lobby of E.J. Thomas Hall following the concert.

Tickets start at $25.


Center map


Post categories:

Leave a Reply