Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances Highlights Cleveland Orchestra’s Blossom Concert

Photo by Fay Fox

Sat 8/17 @ 8PM

While Sergei Rachmaninoff was a Moscow native, he left Russia after the Revolution and settled in the U.S. He composed his last work, Symphonic Dances, in New York in 1940, three years before his death. The orchestral suite includes three movements titled “Noon,” “Twilight” and “Midnight.”

It will be the featured piece on the Cleveland Orchestra’s concert at Blossom Music Center this week, led by the orchestra’s assistant conductor Vinay Parameswaran. The program also includes Charles Ives’ “Decoration Day” from A Symphony: New England Holidays and Leonard Bernstein’s Jeremiah: Symphony No. 1, the latter featuring mezzo-soprano Jennifer Johnson Cano (pictured), making it in essence, an all-American program.

Tickets are $25-$85.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply