Cleveland Orchestra & Kent Blossom Chamber Orchestra Perform Dual Concert at Blossom

Photo by Frank Grimm

Sat 7/27 @ 7PM

Edward Elgar’s Variations on an Original Theme aka the Enigma Variations were written in the waning years of the 19th century, featuring 14 short pieces on a single theme, based on a friend or family member.

No one is sure what the Enigma is but one thing is clear: the piece is very popular. And it’s the finale of this week’s dual concert at Blossom Music Center by the Cleveland Orchestra and the Kent Blossom Chamber Orchestra. The concert begins at 7pm with Cleveland Orchestra assistant conductor leading the Kent Blossom ensemble in Felix Mendelssohn’s Overture: The Hebrides and Maurice Ravel’s Suite from Mother Goose.

At 8pm the Cleveland Orchestra, conducted by Bramwell Tovey, will take the stage to perform Benjamin Britten’s Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, and Camille Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No. 1 with cellist Gautier Capuçon. Finally the two orchestras will perform the Enigma Variations together, with Tovey conducting.

Tickets are $25-$89.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply