Cleveland Orchestra Blossom Concerts Feature Gershwin and Fireworks

Phot by Greg Hegleson

Fri 7/5-Sat 7/6 @ 8PM

The Cleveland Orchestra takes the stage at Blossom Music Center this weekend to keep the July 4th celebration going after the Blossom Festival Band’s two-day “Salute to America.”

The Orchestra, led by conductor Roderick Cox (pictured), will offer a salute to American composers with a program featuring Leonard Bernstein’s Symphonic Suite from On the Waterfront and George Gershwin’s beloved Rhapsody in Blue, with Aaron Diehl on piano.

Then the orchestra heads to Russia for two more familiar pieces: Igor Stravinsky’s Suite from The Firebird and — I warned you the July 4th celebration was continuing! — Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture. And of course you can’t have the 1812 Overture without fireworks — it’s a law or something. So, weather permitting, they’ll be happening.

Tickets are $25-$89.



Post categories:

Leave a Reply