Cleveland Chamber Music Society Bring the Takacs String Quartet Back to Shaker Heights

Photo by Amanda Tipton

Tue 4/9 @ 7:30PM

The Cleveland Chamber Music Society, now in its 68th year, brings back an ensemble that also has a long history. The Takacs Quartet was founded 42 years ago by four music students in Budapest and has been quartet in residence in residence at the University of Colorado, Boulder for 34 years. While the only member remaining member from the founding lineup is cellist András Fejér, the group has maintained the high musical standards they’ve become noted for over the year that’s made them an in-demand touring act when they’re not fulfilling their educational duties.

The group’s program when they perform at Plymouth Church in Shaker Heights includes Joseph Haydn’s String Quartet in D minor, Dmitri Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 4 in D major, and Edvard Grieg’s String Quartet in G minor.

Tickets are $30, $28 for seniors, and $5 for students.




Post categories:

Leave a Reply