No Exit New Music Opens Season with Three Different Programs and a Return Visit from Minnesota’s Zeitgeist

Fri 9/14 @ 8PM

Sat 9/15 @ 8PM

Mon 9/17 @ 8PM

Cleveland-based No Exit New music opens its 10th season with a trio of concerts when the similarly minded Minnesota-based Zeitgeist returns to share stages with them.

On Fri 9/14 at SPACES, they’ll premier new works by Christopher Stark and Ty Emerson, along with pieces by Joshua Rosner, Philip Blackburn, Jerome Kitzke and a structured improvisation by Julius Eastman which the two groups will perform together.

On Sat 9/15 at WOLFS Gallery on Larchmere, they’ll again premiere works by Stark and Emerson, as well as Alexis Lamb, and perform music by Frederic Rzewski and Philip Blackburn. Hors d’oeuvres and cocktails will be available.

Finally, on Mon 9/17, No Exit and Zeitgeist will be joined by Cleveland’s Ars Futura and Boston’s Transient Canvas, as well as other musicians, for a 20-musician blow-out to perform the world premiere of Andrew Rindfleisch’s “American Monster” (guess who this piece is about). New video by Greg D’Alessio and Frederic Rzewski’s “The People United Will Never Be Defeated!”, performed by pianist Geoffrey Burleson, round out that show. It takes place at Cleveland State’s Drinko Recital Hall.

No Exit New Music performances are always free and open to all.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply