Cleveland Orchestra Performs Mahler’s Symphony No. 9 Plus a New Work

Photo of Franz Welser-Most by Roger Mastroianni

Thu 1/11 @ 7:30PM

Fri 1/12 @ 8PM

Sat 1/13 @ 8PM

Austrian composer Gustav Mahler’s 9th Symphony, written in the first decade of the 2oth century near the end of his life, was, according to fellow Austrian composer Alban Berg “the most heavenly thing Mahler has written… an expression of an exceptional fondness for this earth, the longing to live in peace on it, to enjoy nature to its depths — before death comes.”

It’s the centerpiece of this week’s Cleveland Orchestra concerts. They’ll also feature Stromab (“Downstream”), a new work by43-year-old Austrian composer Johannes Maria Staud.

Cleveland Orchestra music director Franz Welser-Möst conducts the three evenings. Tickets are $21-$165


Post categories:

Leave a Reply