“Photo Now” at Tri-C East Gallery Showcases Some of Cleveland’s Best Photographers

Photo by Janet Century

Thu 9/7 @ 6-8:30PM

The Artists Archives of the Western Reserve’s biennial PhotoNow show, mounted in conjunction with the Tri-C Gallery East, offers photographers from the region the opportunity to submit their work for a show juried by an out-of-town expert and photography lovers a chance to see what area artists are producing.

Each time, the tone of the show is a little different based on the tastes of the visiting juror. This year, it was Los Angeles-based Aline Smithson, who teaches at the Los Angeles Center of Photography, and has curated and juried numerous exhibitions. The show’s press release says, “Overall Smithson preferred dramatic, impactful images for this year’s competition. Despite the diversity of subject matter, the chosen works relate one to another well and create a flow for the exhibition.

She culled 75 images from nearly 300 submitted by 82 photographers.

“As a juror, the first consideration is to look for a level of excellence,” says Smitchson. “I consider if the work challenges, transports, and delights, and I also consider the show as a whole. The PhotoNow 2017 Exhibition happily showcases a wide range of photographic approaches. From more traditional portraiture and landscape, to alternative processes, double exposures, diptychs and triptychs, constructed images, and lensless photographs, it is truly an exciting time to be a photographer.”

Photographers in the show include Jim Aho, Joe Alven, Joe Applebaum, Herbert Ascherman, Philip Balin, Darlene Beiter, Jeff Benedetto, Keith Berr, Susan Bestul, Christina Bock, Morris Burke, Rick Carrello, Marsha Carrington, Tim Carroll, Janet Century, Ryn Clarke, Laura D’Alessandro , Joanne Damian, Amber Ford, Al Fuchs, Andrew Gacom, Jacqueline Grimm , Ben Hauser, Bob Herbst, Sheila Hernandez, Zachery Hoon, Barbara Howell, Paul Jacklitch, Eric Johnson, Kelly Joslin, Maria Kaiser, Larry Kasperek, Jack Koch, Joan Lederer, Michael Levy, Susie Lilley, Rosalie Litt , Wayne Mazorow, Marina Neyman, Jeannette Palsa, Robert Parry, Stuart Pearl, David Perelman-Hall, Karoline Pimplikar, Joseph Polevoi, Kolman Rosenberg, John Saile, Jackie Sajewski, William Sheck, Bruce Sherman, Maurice Sherman, Frank Shoemaker, Stephanie Spyker, Barney Taxel, Nico Pico Train, Eric Vaughn, Michael Weiss, Abe Wolf and Hugh Wonderly.

The opening reception and awards ceremony takes place Thu 9/7 @ 6-8:30pm, with one of the awards voted on by those who attend the reception. The show remains on view through Thu 10/12.


Photo by Michael Weiss

Post categories:

Leave a Reply