The @AkronSymphony Celebrates Freedom at EJ Thomas Hall


Sat 4/11 @ 8PM

The Akron Symphony celebrates the concept of “liberty and justice for all” in its next concert “A New Burst of Freedom” at E.J. Thomas Hall.

There they will recall in music the official end of the Civil War and the institution of slavery, as well as the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln less than a week later in April 1865, along with some other times people have fought to be free.

The program includes Hindemith’s setting of the famous Walt Whitman lament of Lincoln “When Lilacs Last in the Courtyard Bloom’d,” commissioned after the death of another president, Frank Roosevelt; John Williams’ Lincoln: With Malice Toward None; Michael Tippett’s A Child of Our Time, an oratorio inspired by the persecution of Jews prior to World War II; Aaron Copland’s Lincoln Portrait; and Kurt Weill’s “Cry, the Beloved Country,” written about a different struggle against repression—the fight against apartheid in South Africa.

They’ll be marshalling some major musical firepower for this concert. The orchestra will be joined by Akron Symphony Chorus, the Akron School for the Arts Chorus, Akron School for the Arts drama and musical theater students, and soloists soprano Dione Parker Bennett, baritone Brian Keith Johnson and alto Angeleina Valentine. Pastor Eugene Norris II narrates and orchestra music director Christopher Wilkins conducts.

Tickets are $25-$55.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply