Cleveland Orchestra Plays Mendelssohn’s Music for ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’

Thu 5/11 @ 7:30PM

Sat 5/13 @ 8PM

Sun 5/14 @ 3PM

Felix Mendelssohn’s incidental music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream captures some of the gauzy, ephemeral, rustic magic of the beloved Shakespeare play, set in a fairy-infested woodland.

Music director Franz Welser-Möst will lead the Cleveland Orchestra in a performance of this music, with actor Itay Tiran, soprano Anya Matanovic, mezzo-soprano Emily Fons and member of the Cleveland Orchestra Youth Chorus joining them.

The program also includes Hans Werner Henze’s 1977 Il Vitalino raddoppiato: Chaconne for Violin and Chamber Orchestra. The orchestra’s special guest for that piece is young German violinist violinist Julia Fischer (pictured). Tickets are $29-$149.



Post categories:

Leave a Reply