CityMusic Cleveland Closes Its Season With Prokofiev, Mozart & Beethoven

Wed 5/17 @ 7:30PM

Thu 5/18 @ 7:30PM

Fri 5/19 @ 8PM

Sat 5/20 @ 8PM

Sun 5/21 @ 4PM

The CityMusic Cleveland Chamber Orchestra wraps up its 13th season by bringing a new face to Cleveland. Paul Watkins, music director of the English Chamber Orchestra and cellist with the Emerson String Quartet, will be making his Cleveland conducting debut with the ensemble.

The program features three popular works: Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 1 (“Classical”), Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7. The soloist for the concerto is former Cleveland Orchestra clarinetist Daniel Gilbert who left the orchestra in 2007 to join the faculty of the University of Michigan; he’s also on the faculty of Case Western Reserve University and serves as principal clarinetist for CityMusic Cleveland.

The group will perform at St. Mary Parish in Elyria on Wed 5/17; at The Temple-Tifereth Israel on Thu 5/18; at Lakewood Congregational Church on Fri 5/19; at the Shrine Church of St. Stanislaus in Slavic Village on Sat 5/20; and at St. Jerome Church in North Collinwood on Sun 5/21.

As always, the concerts are free and no reservation is required.


Post categories:

Leave a Reply